Reviews

Suburban Task Force is a fun action-comedy that is filled with humor and adventure that will keep you entertained. Author Addison Townes weaves a comical tale told in the first person narrative by the main character, Jade Lydell. The reader is taken along for the ride as Jade unfolds the three suburban housewives wacky adventures in a story that is so far-fetched, you can’t help but sit back and just enjoy it as if you were watching an action-adventure movie. Sometimes a story comes along that is just meant to be fun and provide an escape, and Suburban Task Force is that story. The story is action-packed with enough feats, foibles, humorous plot twists, and laugh-out-loud moments that will easily keep you turning the pages.
“Jersey Girl Book Reviews

This book really took me out of my real life and deposited me right in with the characters.
I was highly entertained throughout. The ending was particularly my favorite, and I was speeding through the chapters to see how the situation would end. I think action-packed is a great way to describe this book, and I enjoyed it and look forward to more from Addison Towne!
“Chick Lit Plus”

Quirky and funny, Suburban Task Force was a clever take on the women’s literature genre with plenty of action for fans of suspense. The story’s greatest strength definitely came from the premise, which was unusual and fun.
Towne definitely has a unique story on her hands, here. The mix of suspense, humor and often silly women had me flipping the pages to the end. I’d be glad to see what messes these women can get into in the future.
“Change The Word”

This story needs to be a MOVIE also!!!!!!!!!!,  October 16, 2012
TOTALLY AWESOME…..I laughed a LOT, and then I would wonder ‘holy cow, these women are crazy’, and then I saw myself in a lot of the story. WAY GOOD! During some difficult real life trials right now in my own life, this book was a great way to think about something other than my own problems. THANK YOU for a great read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 Highly Entertaining,October 14, 2012
By Samantha J “Chick Lit Plus” (Des Moines, IA) -
This review is from: Suburban Task Force- A Best Selling Action Adventure and Chick Lit Series (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)

This book really took me out of my real life and deposited me right in with the characters. The MC is Jade Lydell, a thirty-year old suburban wife living in an identical house as her friends and enjoying game nights with other couples. A home invasion scare makes Jade want to feel better protected, so she signs up herself and two girlfriends for gun safety and all around self-defense courses. The ladies leave the weekend feeling pretty good should they ever enter a situation where they can put their knowledge to good use…but has no idea how soon – and how extreme – that situation will be.

While at a VIP party on Catalina Island filled with celebrities and politicians, the women find themselves in a surreal situation – taken hostage by a rogue terrorist group. The men and women get separated, all outside communication is cut off, and there are already homicide victims. Jade and friends band together to try to do the unthinkable – make it out alive and help free the hostages. I was holding my breath multiple times while reading all the hostage chapters. Even though if I really think about it the plot can seem a bit unbelievable, I was still highly entertained throughout. The ending was particularly my favorite, and I was speeding through the chapters to see how the situation would end. I think action-packed is a great way to describe this book, and I enjoyed it and look forward to more from Addison Towne!

 

Reviews of Suburban Task Force

Enjoyable fast moving action,September 24, 2012

By: Book-Lover

If you enjoy action films more geared to a women’s perspective, you will enjoy this. If you enjoy movies such as Die Hard or True Lies, then this book will be entertaining to you. The plot is not believable, but how many action films have believable plots. The purpose is to entertain. Its basically a female version of Die Hard.

This is about three women who are typical suburban housewives who take a hard core self defense weekend course. They find themselves later in a fast moving hostage takeover situation similar to the Die Hard plot. Its up to them to help foil the evil plot of General Gi….which of course they do in a fumbling sort of way. I found the book fast moving and enjoyable with an unexpected plot twist.

A few people have down graded this book due to foul language. I am typically very offended by foul language and usually won’t read books with a lot of the “f” word, but in this book, it fits the characters and the movement of the plot. Its not foul language just to be foul, but fits the characters and plot development. Don’t let the use of a few “f” words put you off from reading this book. Its not that often and not overly done.

If you enjoy action films such as Die Hard, True Lies, etc, then you will enjoy this book. If those types of movies are not to your taste, then this might not be the book for you.

 

Really great read!

,September 22, 2012

By: The MOM

This review is from: Suburban Task Force- A Best Selling Action Adventure and Chick Lit Series (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)

This is a really great book! I could NOT put it down. Her writing style was fun and kept you turning the pages. You won’t regret reading it’

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put the book down.,August 28, 2012
By:Mary Beth
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Suburban Task Force- A Best Selling Action Adventure and Chick Lit Series (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)I could not put the book down. The 1st chapter was confusing to me. I did not know where the story was going. After that first chapter, it just kept getting better and better. The writer brought the story to life. I could just see it all in my head, the place, the people and their actions. Good book. I would buy another one of Addison Towne books if you had it.
5.0 out of 5 stars Suburban Task Force – You Go Girls,August 8, 2012
By
DANA RAE (South Carolina)

This review is from: Suburban Task Force- A Best Selling Action Adventure and Chick Lit Series (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)

A delightful read. The first few pages, I wasn’t so sure. Then the affluent housewives decided on their self-defense course, versus a weekend at the spa, and from there on out, it was hard to put down, even for necessary tasks. Maybe one of the reasons I so enjoyed it was because Himself insisted I take an intensive “concealed carry” class and that I carry a gun on my solitary road trip across country, so I could kind of relate to what these somewhat “princess” suburban housewives encountered in training and change of attitude. Yes, one does need to somewhat suspend belief, but it’s well worth doing for the fast pace, humor, occasional insight and just plain fun of reading the book. It could benefit from editing, but the story was so good, I found myself making mental editorial corrections as I read, just because I wanted to find out what happened next. IF you want to have fun, some giggles and don’t mind losing a few hours sleep, because you have to see what happens next, this is a great read.I sincerely hope we’ll see further stories about the Suburban Task Force.

Fun and Inspiring, June 10, 2012
By Patricia, Indiana, PA USA
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a romping chic lit book about three suburban wives who, after taking a survival class for fun, find themselves in a position of having to use their new skills.
Granted, it’s all pretty far fetched. However, I found it inspiring that they even TRIED to get themselves out of a bad situation!
I would hope that in a similiar situation I would TRY anything, rather than giving up and being led to slaughter like a stupid sheep.
As my mother always says, “It’s time to do something, even if it is wrong!”

Suburban Task Force, June 6, 2012
By Della Serafine
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Very Enjoyable book. Kindle addition purchased from amazon. Action packed and character driven account of 3 suburban housewives who decide to get training in self defense and then have the misfortune to put that training to use. An empowering, comic account of truely taking control of your situation. Della

Great entertainment!!!, June 2, 2012
Robin Carman
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel)
I have to admit, this probablly wasn’t a book I would normally read. But I am so glad that I did! It’s a fun story and I couldn’t help but think of myself kicking butt like Jade and her friends!! It was very entertaining, and it was easy to escape into Jades’ world. I’m looking forward to their next adventure!! I have and will continue to recommend Suburban Task Force to my friends, family and strangers!!

Shades of Nancy Drew grown up, June 1, 2012
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel)(Kindle Edition)
This was a fun, quirky, and unusual story that is a definite page turner. Anyone with a
sense of humor, with knowledge of current movies and TV action stories, and can identify
with the Valley Girl….albeit married….will enjoy this novel. Even a “cool guy” who has
a sister he can identify with these traits….or a girlfriend he would like to have with these
traits….in short, all of us “out there” can enjoy this read. Thumbs up for a great first
novel and look forward to more.

Truly Laugh out loud Funny – if you are in a relationship – you can relate, May 31, 2012
By  Gaele(Atlanta, GA) -
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)
And, it starts out like that. A good, albeit rather quiet suburban existence from a relocated inner city girl, involved in her work, her friends and her shopping. Perhaps even finding things a little ‘too’ predictable. She hauls off with her best friends for a girl’s weekend of kicking ass and taking names. Never really thinking that, aside from the hormonal and confidence increases they experienced, that they would need to utilize any of the skills gained in a weekend of self-defense training.

Fast forward to another connection from the neighborhood, and the girls are off to a luxury, rub elbows with the stars weekend, when all hell breaks out in the form of a hostage situation to preceded a terrorist attack. And the 3 suburban women, armed with little more than an encyclopedic knowledge of all action films, and a 4 day weekend of training manage to confound and confuse their attackers while encouraging and collecting others along their journey.

With a real sense of ‘everyone could do this’ and yes, I’ve felt that at times with my husband, the humor and situations are infused with enough ‘real life potential’ to breathe life and develop a caring for the characters and what they will do next. It’s a fun summer read, leading us all to the direct correlation that books ( and people ) cannot always be judged by their cover.

Very Enjoyable, May 31, 2012
By Toni J. Mortenson(Wyoming) -
This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This book is fun,starts out slow. Suddenly you’re hooked and reading all night to finish. The characters are well written. What they do,while not likely, isn’t impossible. Made me want to start searching for a training camp. I enjoyed this book. Will definitely read another by this author. I like her style of writing, talking to the reader. I will recommend this book to friends. It did just what I hope for in a book. Easy to read, laughed, some suspense, disappointed when it ended.

Fun and action packed, May 30, 2012
By Edie (Millersburg, Ohio, US) -This review is from: Suburban Task Force (A Jade Lydell Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This book is tops! It combines fun, action, silliness, and love…this makes it a wonderful read! I’d like to see this as a movie!

Even for a Guy, I Really Liked It May 26, 2012
By Antonio Svarenga
Format:Kindle Edition
My girlfriend was laughing when she read this, so after she fell asleep, and I could not fall asleep, I say, “OK, I will read it!” I snuck her kindle off her night stand, just to take a peek, and ended up reading almost the whole thing, until something like 4 o’clock.

At first I didn’t like the Jade character — I guess I don’t have much in common with a self-centered (from my perspective) suburban house wife, as I grew up a rural guy who hunts, works with his hands, boring things like that — but after her reality check, when she starts to see all that crap is really just crap, and the road she goes down to escape that hellish life, I thought, “OK, right on!” and I was hooked on.

It got pretty wild after that (I will not ruin details because I hate that for other reviews). It was like I was watching a movie, but it was pretty fun, and I had a good time, even if I was so tired I could barely be awake for work the next day.

Fun story many can relate to! May 24, 2012
By Anthony Portnoy
Format:Kindle Edition
This story is a fun, first person oriented tale that is rooted in real-life experiences that many generation x-ers/thirtysomethings go through. While these references are sure to get a couple of chuckles out of you, the twist of the story will really amuse you.

Also shows that women are not just savvy at shopping!!!!

A Gem! May 24, 2012
By Alli
Format:Kindle Edition
I loved the sarcasm in this book! It cracked me up! A gem! It is the perfect read for summer trips to the beach or pool. The characters were interesting as well. You won’t be disappointed!